Events & Programs


 

Public Programs
Winneshiek County Conservation hosts numerous public programs throughout the year. Unless otherwise noted, Public Programs are free. Some programs may require materials fees. Program locations, dates, and times vary. In case of severe weather, please tune into KDEC 100.5 or KVIK 104.7 for cancellation information. For programs requiring registration and for more information, please call (563) 534-7145. More events may be added throughout the year and programs may be subject to change or cancellation. Please confirm with our office prior to the program.

2017 Program Schedule
  • Sun., January 29 : Cross-Country Ski/Snowshoe (2:00, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Fri., February 10: Full Moon Snowshoe/Hike (6:30 pm, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., February 12 : Beat the Blues Final Mile Party (3:15-4:30pm, Walk from West Side Elementary to Wayside Park for Snow Party, Decorah)
  • Sun., February 26: Cross-Country Ski/Snowshoe (2:00, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., March 5 : Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 1, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., March 12: Rain Barrel Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 8, $20 materials fee per barrel, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., March 19: Bluebird House Workshop (2:00, $5 suggested donation, Lake Meyer campground shop, bring a hammer if you have one)
  • Sun., March 26: Waterfowl Viewing at Cardinal Marsh (2:00, meet at the south parking lot off Madison Road)
  • Sun., April 30: Wildflower Walk (2:00, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Thurs., May 11: Recycled Tire Bird Feeders (6:00 pm, registration required by May 9, $10 materials fee, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., May 14: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by May 12, Lake Meyer boat ramp)
  • Sun., July 9: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by July 7, Lake Meyer boat ramp)
  • Sat., August 5 (9-11 am) and Thurs., August 10 (6-7:30 pm): Leaf Casting (Two-part workshop; participants should plan on attending both sessions, registration required by August 2, $10 materials fee, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., September 17: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by September 15 , Lake Meyer boat ramp)
  • Thurs., October 5: Full Moon Hike (7:30 pm, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., November 12: Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00; registration required by November 8, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer campground shop)


 

 

 

Special Events

 

ice fishing 2

 

Lake Meyer Ice Fishing Derby

Saturday, February 11, 2017
Lake Meyer Park and Campground
Registration Opens at 7:00; Fishing from 7:30-11:30 am
$5 for adults (16 years and up), Free for children (15 years and younger)

All ages welcome! All participants eligible for one of many door prizes!

 

 

Blues Logo

 

Click here to join the 2016-17 Beat the Blues Marathon!

 

 

 

 

Logo Smaller

The 2016 Driftless Safari has wrapped up for the season. Thank you for joining us and we look forward to seeing you again in 2017! Visit www.driftless-safari.org for more information!

 

 

 

 

Workshop Handouts and Additional Resources

 

 

Joomla templates by a4joomla