Events & Programs


Public Programs

Winneshiek County Conservation hosts numerous public programs throughout the year. Unless otherwise noted, Public Programs are free. Some programs may require materials fees. Program locations, dates, and times vary. In case of severe weather, please tune into KDEC 100.5 or KVIK 104.7 for cancellation information. For programs requiring registration and for more information, please call (563) 534-7145. More events may be added throughout the year and programs may be subject to change or cancellation. Please confirm with our office prior to the program.

2018 Program Schedule
  • Mon., January 1: First Day Full Moon Walk (5:15 pm, Decorah Hatchery)
  • Sun., February 18: Cross-Country Ski/Snowshoe (2:00, Lake Meyer Campground) 
  • Sun., March 4 : Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 2, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer Campground Shop)
  • Sun., March 11: Rain Barrel Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 8, $20 materials fee per barrel, Lake Meyer Campground Shop)
  • Sun., March 18: Bluebird House Workshop (2:00, $5 suggested donation, Lake Meyer Campground Shop, bring a hammer if you have one)
  • Sun., March 25: Waterfowl at Cardinal Marsh :00, meet at south parking lot off Madison Road)
  • Sun., April 29: Wildflower Walk (2:00, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Thurs., May 10: Recycled Tire Bird Feeders (6:00 pm, registration required by May 8, $10 materials fee, Lake Meyer Campground Shop)
  • Sun., May 13: Shorebirds at Cardinal Marsh (2:00, meet at south parking lot off Madison Road)
  • Sun., May 20: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00, registration required by May 18, Lake Meyer)
  • Sun., May 20: Wildflowers at Hayden Prairi(2:00, meet at Hayden Prairie in Howard County)
  • Sun., June 24: Cardinal Marsh by Kayak (3:00, registration required by noon on June 22, Cardinal Marsh Map)
  • Sun., July 1: NABA Butterfly Count (2:00, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., August 5: Prairie Wildflowers at Decorah Prairie (2:00, Decorah Community Prairie)
  • Sun., Sept. 16: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00, registration required by Sept. 14 , Lake Meyer)
  • Sun., Oct. 7: Fall Colors Hike (2:00, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., Oct. 14: Sparrow Hike at Chipera Prairie (2:00, meet at Chipera Prairie)
  • Sun., Oct. 21: Geocache Pumpkin Hunt (2:00, registration required by Oct. 19, Lake Meyer Campground)
  • Wed., Oct. 24: Full Moon Night Hike (7:00 pm, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., Nov. 18: Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00, registration required by Nov. 16, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer Campground Shop)
  • Sat., December 22: Full Moon Night Hike (5:30 pm, Lake Meyer Campground)

 

 

Special Events


Gnomes Logo

 





Click here for more information on the 2018 Gnomes on the Trail!



2018Small

Click here for more information on the Driftless Safari!


 

 

 

Workshop Handouts and Additional Resources
Joomla templates by a4joomla