Events & Programs


 

Public Programs
Winneshiek County Conservation hosts numerous public programs throughout the year. Unless otherwise noted, Public Programs are free. Some programs may require materials fees. Program locations, dates, and times vary. In case of severe weather, please tune into KDEC 100.5 or KVIK 104.7 for cancellation information. For programs requiring registration and for more information, please call (563) 534-7145. More events may be added throughout the year and programs may be subject to change or cancellation. Please confirm with our office prior to the program.

2017 Program Schedule
  • Sun., January 29 : Cross-Country Ski/Snowshoe (2:00, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Fri., February 10: Full Moon Hike (6:30 pm, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., February 12 : Beat the Blues Final Mile Party (3:15-4:30pm, Walk from West Side Elementary to Wayside Park for Snow Party, Decorah)
  • Sun., February 26: Cross-Country Ski/Snowshoe (2:00, Lake Meyer campground shop) Cancelled due to lack of snow.
  • Sun., March 5 : Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 1, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., March 12: Rain Barrel Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 10, $20 materials fee per barrel, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., March 19: Bluebird House Workshop (2:00, $5 suggested donation, Lake Meyer campground shop, bring a hammer if you have one)
  • Sun., March 26: Waterfowl Viewing at Cardinal Marsh (2:00, meet at the south parking lot off Madison Road)
  • Sun., April 30: Wildflower Walk (2:00, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter) Cancelled due to predicted cold and rain.
  • Thurs., May 11: Recycled Tire Bird Feeders (6:00 pm, registration required by May 9, $10 materials fee, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., May 14: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by May 12, Lake Meyer boat ramp)
  • Sun., May 14: Shorebird Viewing at Cardinal Marsh (2:00, meet at the south parking lot off Madison Road)
  • Sun., May 21: Wildflowers at Hayden Prairie (2:00, meet at Hayden Prairie in Howard County)
  • Sun., July 2: NABA Butterfly County (2:00, Lake Meyer Nature Center)
  • Sun., July 9: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by July 7, Lake Meyer boat ramp)
  • Sat., August 5 (9-11 am) and Thurs., August 10 (6-7:30 pm): Leaf Casting (Two-part workshop; participants should plan on attending both sessions, registration required by August 2, $10 materials fee, Lake Meyer campground shop)
  • Sun., August 13: Wildflowers at Decorah Community Prairie (2:00, meet at Decorah Community Prairie Butterfly Garden)
  • Sun., September 17: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by September 15 , Lake Meyer boat ramp)
  • Sun., October 1: Fall Color Hike (2:00 pm, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Thurs., October 5: Full Moon Hike (7:30 pm, Lake Meyer Park, East Shelter)
  • Sun., October 15: Sparrow Hike at Chipera Prairie (2:00, meet at Chipera Prairie)
  • Sun., November 12: Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00; registration required by November 8, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer campground shop)


 

 

 

Special Events


 

Unplug and join us for a week-long break from digital entertainment from May 1-7. Turn off your (non-school and work) screens and tune in to the world around you!

Attend one of the many community events being hosted during the week, or use it as a time to reconnect with family and friends, return to old hobbies, or try something new!

Here are some resources to help get you started.

 

 

Logo Smaller

The 2017 Driftless Safari will begin Memorial Day weekend. Visit www.driftless-safari.org for more information!

 

 

 

 

Workshop Handouts and Additional Resources

 

 

Joomla templates by a4joomla