Events & Programs


 

Public Programs
Winneshiek County Conservation hosts numerous public programs throughout the year. Unless otherwise noted, Public Programs are free. Some programs may require materials fees. Program locations, dates, and times vary. In case of severe weather, please tune into KDEC 100.5 or KVIK 104.7 for cancellation information. For programs requiring registration and for more information, please call (563) 534-7145. 

2016 Program Schedule

More events may be added throughout the year. Programs may be subject to change or cancellations. Please confirm with the WCC office prior to the program.

January 17, Sunday: Cross-Country Skiing and Snowshoeing (2:00, Lake Meyer Campground shop)

January 31, Sunday: Beat the Blues Winter Marathon Final Mile Party (2:00-4:00, Phelps Park, Decorah)

February 14, Sunday: Valentine's Day Outdoors (2:00, Lake Meyer Campground shop, wide variety of snow and outdoor activities, crafts, etc., family friendly)

February 22, Monday: Full Moon Hike/Snowshoe (6:30 pm; Lake Meyer Park, Meet at East Shelter above boat launch)

March 6, Sunday: Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00; registration required by March 2, $30 materials fee per bench, Lake Meyer Campground shop, bring a cordless drill if you have one)

March 13, Sunday: Bluebird House Workshop (2:00, $5 suggested donation, Lake Meyer Campground shop, bring a hammer if you have one)

March 20, Sunday: Rain Barrel Workshop (2:00, registration required by March 16, $20 materials fee per barrel, Lake Meyer Campground shop)

March 27, Sunday: Waterfowl Viewing at Cardinal Marsh (2:00, meet at the south parking lot off of Madison Road)

April 24, Sunday: Earth Day Geocache Hunt (2:00-4:00, registration required by April 20, Lake Meyer Campground, GPS instruction provided)

May 5, Thursday: Recycled Tire Bird Feeders (6:00 pm, registration required by May 3, $10 materials fee, Lake Meyer Campground shop)

May 15, Sunday: Shorebirds at Cardinal Marsh (2:00, meet at the south parking lot off of Madison Road)

May 22, Sunday: Prairie Wildflowers at Hayden Prairie (2:00, meet at the parking lot off of A23, Hayden Prairie is in Howard County)

June 5, Sunday: Canoeing & Kayaking (2:00 pm, registration required by June 3, space limited, Lake Meyer boat ramp)

July 3, Sunday: North American Butterfly County (2:00, Lake Meyer Nature Center)

July 23, Saturday: Pollinator Walk at Chipera Prairie (Details TBA)

Leaf Casting: Sat., August 6 (9-11am) and Thurs., August 11 (6-7:30 pm). (Two-part workshop; participants should plan on attending both sessions. Registration required by August 3. $10 materials fee. Lake Meyer Campground Shop.)

September 16, Friday: Full Moon Hike (7:30 pm; Lake Meyer Park, Meeting Point TBD)

October 9, Sunday: Leopold Bench Workshop (2:00, registration required by October 5, $30 materials fee, Lake Meyer Campground Shop)

October 16, Sunday: Sparrow Hike at Chipera Prairie (2:00, meet at Chipera Prairie)

 

 

Special Events

 

Racoon Logo 2015 Small

Planning for the 2016 Driftless Safari is underway.  Visit www.driftless-safari.org for more information and to keep updated!

 

 

Workshop Handouts and Additional Resources

 

 

Joomla templates by a4joomla